Cook: Future educator scholarship awarded to local students

Posted by: Allison Vanatsky  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Many local students planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero).

Cook, who co-authored legislation creating this scholarship program, said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Great teachers have a profound impact on their students and get them excited to learn,” Cook said. “As a former educator, it’s encouraging to see young people from our area passionate about teaching future generations of Hoosiers, and I congratulate them for receiving this scholarship.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Cook said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Delaware, Hamilton and Madison counties:

Delaware County

  • Allison Comp, Yorktown High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Emily Coulter, Liberty Christian School, Taylor University;
  • Hannah Quirk, Cowan High School, Ball State University;

Hamilton County

  • Layla Adbelhak, Warren Central High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Ellie Avagian, Carmel High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Caroline Brenner, University High School of Indiana, Butler University;
  • Carly Butz, Fishers High School, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis;
  • Taylor Fischl, Guerin Catholic High School, Butler University;
  • Alyssa Fleckenstein, Carmel High School, Ball State University;
  • Grace Hamilton, Carmel High School, Marian University;
  • Savannah Myers, Westfield High School, Marian University;
  • Cassidy Ogan, Hamilton Southeastern High School, Ball State University;
  • Seth Pope, Noblesville High School, Ball State University.

Madison County

  • Kama Clevenger, Pendleton Heights High School, Butler University;
  • Bailey Miles, Pendleton Heights High School, Taylor University; and
  • Alyssa Whaley, Lapel Senior High School, Ball State University.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Tony Cook (R-Cicero) represents House District 32, which

includes portions of Hamilton, Madison, and Delaware counties. 

A high-resolution photo of Cook can be downloaded by clicking here.