Bosma appoints lay members for new key panels on alcohol, courts

Posted by: Erin Reece  | Wednesday, July 12, 2017 2:30 pm

STATEHOUSE (July 12, 2017) ― House Speaker Brian C. Bosma (R-Indianapolis) today announced his lay member appointments to the newly formed Alcohol Code Revision Commission and the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee.

Bosma selected Alex Huskey and Douglas M. Kowalski to serve on the Alcohol Code Revision Commission. The commission is tasked with completing a two-year comprehensive review of Indiana’s alcohol laws and making recommendations for potential legislation to the Indiana General Assembly.

Huskey, former chairman of the Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission, is the chancellor at Ivy Tech Community College’s Marion campus and serves as a pastor in Marion. Kowalski, former executive secretary and hearing judge for the Indiana Alcohol and Tobacco Commission, is the risk manager for Indianapolis Public Schools. He also served as the corporation counsel for the City of Indianapolis under former Mayor Greg Ballard and worked as a major felony attorney for the Marion County Public Defender Agency. 

“The Alcohol Code Revision Commission has the monumental task of working through the web of Indiana’s complex alcohol laws and identifying ways the state can better balance consumer convenience with public safety,” Bosma said. “This is a tough assignment given the strong interest and potential impact on so many within the industry and Indiana’s consumers. Our hope is that these lay members will approach these issues without bias and provide their expertise to help move the discussion forward.”

Former State Sen. Beverly Gard of Greenfield will chair the commission and once all of the members are selected, information including meeting dates, times and locations will be available by clicking here.  

Bosma also appointed Jennifer Thuma to serve on the Marion County Judicial Selection Committee. Thuma is the associate director of professional development and pro bono at Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law. Thuma served as legislative director under former Gov. Mitch Daniels, staff attorney for the Indiana General Assembly and education coordinator and victims services director for former Attorney General Greg Zoeller. The merit-selection committee is tasked with nominating judges for the governor’s appointment, which is a significant change to the way Marion County’s 36 Superior Court judges are selected. The previous system was ruled unconstitutional by a federal judge and upheld in the 7th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.