Abbott announces local recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Abbott announces local recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Jake Thompson  | Friday, May 1, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 1, 2020) — Several Noble County students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. David Abbott (R-Rome City).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017.

"Young educators are the lifeblood of the teaching profession in our state," Abbott said. "Making sure we get the best possible candidates into our future teaching ranks is imperative. This program just adds one more avenue to do that."

More than 350 students applied and several scholarships were recently awarded to local students:

  • Madison Bremer, Central Noble Junior Senior High School, Grace College;
  • Madison Gaff, Churubusco Jr-Sr High School, University of Saint Francis; and
  • Jenna Hutsell, West Noble High School, Franklin College.

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Abbott said recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. David Abbott (R-Rome City) represents House District 82, which includes 
all of Noble County and portions of Allen, Elkhart, LaGrange and Whitley counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.